Stuffed Sweet Peppers (Baked)

I never knew what to expect of something that’s called “sweet peppers”. Until the day I tasted these at a good friend’s home. Her MIL had stuffed them with a spicy potato mixture, and my friend had baked them to cook. As an accompaniment, they were amazing. Since then, I have made these a few times; both as appetizers and as sides to a main meal. Yesterday, I saw them again in my produce store; so thought I’d share them with you.

Curried Stuffed Sweet Peppers

What you need:

A pack of sweet peppers, washed, cut lengthwise and deseeded
For the filling: I have used 3-4 different fillings
  1. Started out with my friend’s spicy potato filling (pictured above) – boiled mashed potatoes mixed with salt, red chilli powder, paste of green chillies and ginger, amchoor (dried mango powder), dhania (coriander) powder – all mixed in together to taste.
  2. The second time, I made a similar filling mix; except that I substituted half of the potato for crumbled paneer.
  3. For an appetizer, I used a filling a blanched spinach, crushed corn and chickpeas along with crumbled feta. Again, seasoned to taste. Gives a Mediterranean flavor.
  4. Lastly, I tried a mexican bean salsa filling- crushed black beans and corn, seasoned with taco seasoning and a bit of chunky, fresh salsa thrown in.  In the last 10 minutes of baking, I threw on some Mexican 4-cheese blend on the peppers.
To make
  1. Fill each pepper half with the filling of choice.
  2. Line them up in a single layer on a greased pyrex dish.
  3. Bake in a preheated oven at 350F, for 20-30 min, covered with a foil. 
  4. Then remove the foil and bake uncovered, another 10 min.
My two cents: As I said earlier, I’ve served these peppers both as sides to a main meal ( the first two filling mixes) and as appetizers in the Mediterranean and Mexican flavors. Worked well at all times. This is an easy dish to prepare, can be made ahead, and the vibrant rainbow colors of sweet peppers makes them look attractive as well. 
These peppers, true to their name, are sweet rather than spicy. Therefore, spice them up if you’re serving them as sides to an Indian meal.
Enjoy!

Leave a comment